Make Believe Melodies Logo

New Memoryhook: Nothing To Do EP

It appears Nagoya dream-pop project Memoryhook has undergone a few changes over the last few months. The actual members making up this project seem to have changed, with one half (Takuma, handling bass and beats) sticking around while EMiSM has stepped up as new vocalist and keyboardist. Except…she’s also the featured vocalist here? Whatever that all means, the music on the new Nothing To Do EP offers some departures from what this fledgling outfit showed at the start of summer. The title track is blurry-around-the-edges dance-pop with a few melancholy vocal lines sneaking through the digital mist. “We Are Different” goes for something more menacing with its speak-sing vocals, still buried beneath some slight distortion and with some uneasy ripples worked in. There was a period a few years ago where all music that had sing-speak and creepy guitar solos was described as “Lynchian.” That’s the shift (well, or a move towards trip-hop) Memoryhook goes for on this number and the sparser closer “Losing Your Mind.” It’s still a dream, just a bit darker. Get it here, or listen below.

UPDATE: Looks like there hasn’t been any line-up change, thanks to Memoryhook for the clarification