Make Believe Melodies Logo

Diskotopia Shares DSK F​/​W 2018​-​2019 Free Compilation Featuring Foodman, Greeen Linez And More

Diskotopia’s latest compilation feels a bit chillier than previous offerings from the Tokyo label, with more moments of unease cropping up alongside the usual body-moving flow. These aren’t new moods for anyone associated with the collective, but DSK F​/​W 2018​-​2019 Free Compilation comes off as more fitting for the coldest stretch of the years than previous installments in this series. Maybe that can be attributed to opener “Dawn Without Red” by Greeen Linez, a project that previously has dabbled in a re-imagining of glitzed-out city pop soaked in summer vibes. But here the track feels like its thawing out, moving at a slower tempo and placing more of an emphasis on a melody that slowly revelas all its beauty. The same vibe appears on Foodman’s glassy “Hitori Futari” and even on the high-stepper “Cake” from Submerse, which still struts in no rush and lets plenty of space in.

Alongside this feeling is a general wooziness running through tracks here, like stumbling out of bed a little too early and feeling discombobulated. BD1982’s “Sailing Towers” hides muffled singing over layers of other noises, including distortion, while A Taut Line’s “Guidance Light” sounds faded, a familiar drive slowly vanishing to time. Even more outright energetic numbers from Silvestre and Yuzi Zapping feature moments of sounds skipping, a slight disruption in moments of release. Diskotopia remains ever changing, but solid as ever. Get it here, or listen below.